Nagens Trail – The World’s First Bike Trail Built with 100% E-Energy

mann auf baustelle bau nagens trail spatenstich investments weiße arena gruppe

By August 2020, a construction project will be implemented in Flims Laax Falera that should particularly inspire mountain bikers: The new Nagens Mountain Bike Trail. Only renewable energy from hydropower and solar energy will be used for the entire construction. From the excavator to the chain saw, all equipment is electrically powered. Even the journey of the trail builders and all other people involved in the construction is done by e-car or e-bike; greenstyle.

 

For Claudio Caluori of Velosolutions, it is clear that such unusual challenges are to be expected in a pioneering project like this. As the founder of the company, he and his team build trails and pump tracks all over the world and is therefore used to adapting to the most diverse conditions: “Just transporting the machines up the mountain was the first hurdle: Since we couldn’t find an electric vehicle, we drove straight up the mountain with the electric excavators, and of course we ran out of battery halfway up. But we made it to the next charging station, and two hours later our team was at the start of construction,” he reports.

 

The construction of the Nagens Trail involves much more than the use of electric devices: The constant exchange with the regional forest engineer, the environmental authorities and experts is just as much a part of everyday life as keeping a specification sheet. All interventions in nature – flora and fauna, groundwater, landscape and surface water – are recorded in these specifications.

 

The new enduro single trail leads over 4 kilometres from Nagens to Plaun and thus forms the last section for the bike development from the Grauberg mountain station to Flims. From Plaun you can return to the valley via the two existing trails Green Valley or Runca Trail. You can get to the start from Flims via the Foppa – Naraus chairlift and then with the Grauberg cable car. Like the existing Runca Trail, the Nagens Trail is categorised with the difficulty level red. Advanced mountain bikers with trail experience will feel right at home on it.

Details

Completed

August 2020

Velosolutions

The world’s first bike trail built with 100% electric energy/ realisation exclusively with electric equipment

More Greenstyle Projects

01. September 2021

Renovation of the Crap Sogn Gion Mountain Station

Read more

26. January 2021

Last Day Pass – The Lift Ticket for the Day that Will Hopefully Never Come

Read more

26. July 2020

Nagens Trail – The World’s First Bike Trail Built with 100% E-Energy

Read more

Nagens Trail – Der weltweit erste mit 100% E-Energie erbaute Biketrail

mann auf baustelle bau nagens trail spatenstich investments weiße arena gruppe

Bis August 2020 wird in Flims Laax Falera ein Bauprojekt umgesetzt, welches vor allem Mountainbiker begeistern dürfte: Der neue Nagens Mountainbike Trail. Für den gesamten Bau wird ausschliesslich erneuerbare Energie aus Wasserkraft und Sonnenenergie genutzt. Vom Bagger bis zur Kettensäge werden sämtliche Gerätschaften elektrisch betrieben. Selbst die Anfahrt der Trailbauer und aller weiteren, am Bau beteiligten Personen, erfolgt per E-Auto oder E-Bike; Greenstyle eben.

 

Für Claudio Caluori von Velosolutions ist klar, dass solch ungewöhnliche Herausforderungen bei einem Pionierprojekt wie diesem zu erwarten sind. Als Gründer der Firma baut er mit seinem Team Trails und Pumptracks auf der ganzen Welt und ist sich daher gewohnt sich an die verschiedensten Gegebenheiten anzupassen: „Nur schon der Transport der Maschinen auf den Berg stellte die erste Hürde dar: Da wir kein elektrisches Fahrzeug dazu auftreiben konnten, sind wir direkt mit den elektrischen Baggern den Berg hochgefahren, und natürlich ist uns auf halbem Weg die Batterie ausgegangen. Wir haben’s allerdings bis zur nächsten Ladestation geschafft, und somit war unser Team zwei Stunden später dann beim Baustart.“, berichtet er.

 

Dabei umfasst der Bau des Nagens Trails noch weit mehr, als den Einsatz von E-Gerätschaften: Der stetige Austausch mit dem Regionalforstingenieur, den Umweltbehörden und Experten gehört dabei genauso zum Alltag wie die Führung eines Pflichtenhefts. Darin werden sämtliche Eingriffe in die Natur – Flora und Fauna, Grundwasser, Landschaftsbild sowie Oberflächengewässer – festgehalten.

 

Der neue Enduro Singletrail führt über 4 Kilometer von Nagens nach Plaun und bildet somit das letzte Teilstück für die Bike-Erschliessung von der Bergstation Grauberg bis Flims. Ab Plaun gelangt man über die beiden bestehenden Trails Green Valley oder Runca Trail zurück ins Tal. Zum Start gelangt man von Flims aus via der Sesselbahn Foppa – Naraus und anschliessend mit der Graubergbahn. Der Nagens Trail wird wie der bereits bestehende Runca Trail mit dem Schwierigkeitsgrad rot kategorisiert. Fortgeschrittene Mountainbiker mit Trail-Erfahrung fühlen sich darauf so richtig wohl.

 

Details

Abgeschlossen

August 2020

Velosolutions

Entstehung des weltweit ersten mit 100% E-Energie erbaute Biketrails/ Realisation ausschliesslich mit elektrischen Gerätschaften

Weitere Greenstyle Projekte

01. September 2021

Renovierung der Bergstation Crap Sogn Gion

Mehr erfahren

26. Januar 2021

Last Day Pass – Das Liftticket für den Tag der hoffentlich nie kommt

Mehr erfahren

26. Juli 2020

Nagens Trail – Der weltweit erste mit 100% E-Energie erbaute Biketrail

Mehr erfahren